EC issues notices to Senior BJP leader for threatening Boroland leader

From Bhupen Goswami

GUWAHATI : Out of total 126 assembly seats in Assam, polling is underway for 39 seats in the second phase. Meanwhile, the election commission has sent a notice to state minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sharma. The election commission has asked Himanta Biswa Sharma to reply by 5 pm on April 2. The election commission has sent a notice to Himanta Biswa Sharma on the Congress complaint. The Congress has alleged that Himanta Biswa Sharma had threatened his aide and chairman of Bodoland to get against him by the central agencies.

The election commission  has reportedly issued a show cause notice to BJP leader Hemant Biswa Sarma for allegedly making threatening remarks against Hagrama Mohilri. According to the Election Commission, 68.26 per cent polling has been recorded in Assam till 1:30 pm in the second phase of assembly elections. In the 39 seats in the state where polling is being held, 345 candidates including 26 women are in the fray. Out of total 126 assembly seats in Assam, 47 seats have been held on 27th March in the first phase. The final phase of elections in the state will be held on April 6 and the results will come on May 2. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has appealed to voters to record voting. Let us say that the main match in Assam is between the BJP and the Congress-led coalition.

The BJP-led coalition also includes the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL). The Congress alliance comprises of the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), the Communist Party of India, the Communist Party of India (Marxist), the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Liberation, zonal Gana Marcha, and the Bodoland People’s Front. However, Assam Finance Minister Sarma allegedly threatened Hagaram Mohileri that the former chief executive member of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) would be sent to jail with the help of the National Investigation Agency (NIA). The Hagara Mohilri-led BPF has fielded 12 party candidates to contest the Assam Assembly elections 2021 in Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR). However, the BPF candidate for the Tamulpur seat joined the BJP on Thursday with Rangja Basumatri, the number of candidates of the party led by Hagram Mohili, who is contesting the assembly elections, has gone up to 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>