The news is by your side.

Preparations are on for the Centenary Celebration of premier literary body of Assam

0 45

By Mayukh Goswami

Mangaldai : Mangaldai Sahitya Sabha  , one of the premier  wing of  Asom Sahitya Sabha which was formed in 1918 and successfully organized the fifteenth  central meet  of Asom Sahitya Sabha at Mangaldai in 1934 is going to celebrate its centenary function  at Mangaldai in a befitting manner  on December 21,22 & 23 next .    A strong celebration committee has been formed for its smooth functioning  with Mangaldai Legislator Gurujyoti Das as the President , Swapan Kr Ghosh as the Working President , Kalindra Barua as the Chief Secretary and Mayukh Goswami , Subrata Roy and Pratap Sarma as the Secretaries respectively . The three day celebration will begin  with the unfurling of altogether one hundred no of flag of Asom Sahitya Sabha at the district library premises by same no of prominent persons of Mangaldai town  . Jatin Bhatta , President of Mangaldai Sahitya Sabha will initiate this flag hoisting ceremony . The celebration will feature variety of literary , cultural and social programmes which included  tribute paying to the departed souls of the former office bearers of the literary body , planting of one hundred saplings , release of no of books , district level  contest of traditional ‘Biya Naam” (wedding song ) presentation , lighting of one hundred nos of lamps , felicitation to prominent persons , poet meet , programme of ‘Akash’, its  sister organization , cultural procession , open session and cultural evening among others .

The open session scheduled from 11 am on December 23 in the district library auditorium will be graced by President of Asom Sahitya Sabha ,Dr Paramananda Rajbongshi  as the Chief Guest while Dr Samujjal Kr Bhattacharya will address the session as the appointed speaker . Several other  prominent persons including Padum Rajkhowa , Chief Secretary of Asom Sahitya Sabha , Dr Ram Chandra Deka , President , Darrang Zila Sahitya Sabha  , Deputy Commissioner , Darrang Ashok Kr Barman , Superintendent of Police , Sreejith.Thiraviam , veteran singer Dr Anima Choudhury , distinguished poet Neelim Kumar, Chairman Mangaldai Municipal Board Pratap Bordoloi , veteran women activist Rani Devi, former president of Darrang Zila Sahitya Sabha Dr Amarendra Narayan Deb and Phulendra Nath Saharia respectively, senior office bearers of Asom Sahitya Sabha Jadab Sarma and Sahir Bhuya  etc are also going to attend the various events of the centenary celebration as stated by the organizers .

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.