Assam Cabinet decides to confer Assam Ratna, Bibhushan, Bhushan and Assam Shri Award every year

From Bhupen Goswami

GUWAHATI : The Assam Cabinet has decided to give four major state awards each year namely Assam Ratna, Assam Vibhushan, Assam Bhushan and Assam Shri. Assam Ratna is an existing State Award which was earlier awarded every 3 years. However, the Assam cabinet on Tuesday decided that the award will be given every year from now on. On the other hand, three new awards, Assam Bibhushan, Assam Bhushan and Assam Shri have been instituted by the Government of Assam.

The Asom Ratna Award will be given to only one person every year and a prize of Rs 5 lakh will also be given. The Assam Vibhushan Award will be given to three persons and Rs 3 lakh each. Assam Bhushan and Assam Shri Puraskar will be given to five and ten personalities respectively. The Assam Bhushan Award will give a prize of Rs 2 lakh each, while the Asom Sri Award will give rs 1 lakh each. Awards will be given on Sukfa Diwas or Assam Day celebrated in Assam on 2nd December every year to commemorate the arrival of the first king of the Ahom Empire in Assam. The awards will be given for outstanding contribution to literature, art and culture and social service. Assam Education Minister Ranuj Pegu made the announcement.

The awardees will be entitled to free medical treatment and room access in the circuit house. On the other hand, the Government of Assam has taken 4036 160 crore for rehabilitation of surrendering NDFB rebel members. Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday approved the rehabilitation programme of 4036 NDFB members during a review of the status of implementation of the Bodoland Provincial Area (BTR) Agreement which will cost Rs 160 crore.

The rehabilitation programme of NDFB workers will be envisaged by the Bodoland Provincial Council (BTC) with the help of the State Institute of Panchayat and Rural Development in which Inspector General of Special Branch of Assam Police Hiren Nath Sharma will coordinate. He said that under the scheme, skill development training will be imparted in various parts of BTR for socio-economic development of 4036 members of national democratic front of Bodoland (NDFB). NdFB is one of the four armed separatist groups that laid down their arms in January this year by signing the Bodo Peace Agreement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>