The news is by your side.

BTC elections: Kokrajhar administration ready for smooth polls

0 31

From Preetam Brahma Choudhury

Kokrajhar: The Kokrajhar district administration is all geared up for the smooth conduct of Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) elections scheduled in the second phase on December 10.

Kokrajhar Deputy Commissioner Bhaskar Phukan said the district administration has made all necessary arrangements for smooth conduct of free and fair elections in 12 constituencies under Kokrajhar district.

Altogether 70 candidates are in fray in 12 constituencies under Kokrajhar district. A total of 10, 53,829 voters will exercise their franchise in the 506 Polling Center. Altogether polling stations were 151 identified as safe, 209 as comparatively safe, 357 as sensitive and 156 polling stations were identified as very sensitive.

7 No Fakiragram (Non ST) have the highest number of 12 candidates, followed by 12 No Guma (Open) constituencies with Total 11 Candidates, 1 No Parbotzora ( ST) 10 candidates. 9 No Bonorgaon (ST) and 10 No Deborgaon (ST) constituencies have the lowest 2 candidates each.

Phukan said adequate security arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful polling.

Following Covid19 guidelines, the polling stations were already sanitized, masks and hand sanitizer will be kept in each polling station as per the covid-19 guidelines.

The deputy commissioner appeals to the voters to come out and exercise their franchise and enjoy their democratic rights for good governance.

The second phase of polling in 19 seats -12 constituencies under Kokrajhar and 7 constituencies under Chirang district will take place on December 10. The first phase election in 21 constituencies under Udalguri and Baksa district went off peacefully yesterday December 7 which recorded an overall 77.21 polling percentage. Counting will be held on December 12. 

Altogether 241 candidates are in the poll fray across 40 constituencies. The UPPL is contesting in all 40 seats, the BPF which is ruling the BTC since 2005 is contesting in 37 seats, BJP in 26 seats, Congress -13, GSP -35 while the AIUDF has fielded candidates in 7 constituencies.

Campaigning for second phase ends

Meanwhile campaigning for the second phase of Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) elections to 19 seats under Kokrajhar and Chirang district on December 10 ended today evening.

Assam cabinet minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, BJP state president  Ranjit Kumar Dass addressed multiple election rallies in the on the last day of campaign in Kokrajhar district for the BJP candidates reaching out to the public with promise of development.

UPPL president Pramod Boro attended three rallies at Gossaigaon, Fakiragram and Kokrajhar town for the party candidates. The UPPL president later addressed a press conference at the party office in Kokrajhar where he called upon the public to vote for parivartan, good governance and equal and all round development.

Assam Social Welfare minister Pramila Rani Brahma and BPF president Hagrama Mohilary too attended rallies at Salakati and Kokrajhar town for the party candidature.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.