The news is by your side.

Counting of votes for assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa, and Manipur tomorrow

0 17

New Delhi: In the States of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, all the necessary preparations are being finalised for the counting of votes in respect of General Elections to the five Legislative Assemblies tomorrow. In addition, the counting of votes for the simultaneous By-Poll to Majuli Assembly seat in Assam will also be taken up together. The counting process will begin at 8.00 A.M.

The counting trends and results will be available on the Election Commission website and will be updated every few minutes to display the current round wise trends and results of each constituency. The trends and results will also be accessible through the Voter helpline Mobile App.

In view of ongoing pandemic and so as to ensure completely COVID safe arrangements during counting, the Election Commission has rolled out strict COVID protocols for the Counting Day.  The District Election Officer has been appointed as the Nodal Officer at each Counting Centre to ensure adherence to the COVID-19 related norms. Local Health Authorities have also been mandated to issue compliance certificates in respect of the Counting Centres.

 As per the safety measures, no candidates or poll agents will be allowed inside the Counting Hall without undergoing RT-PCR or Rapid Antigen Test. However, those who have been administered both the doses of COVID vaccination will be allowed. The Commission has also prohibited public gatherings outside the counting venue during the process of counting.

The Counting Hall will be sufficiently big to maintain Social Distancing and will have proper ventilation, windows, exhaust fan etc. Not more than seven counting tables will be allowed in a Counting Hall. The Counting Centres will be disinfected before, during and after the counting. Sealed outer boxes of EVM/VVPAT shall also be sanitized or disinfected. The number of counting tables will be allowed in a Counting Hall as per the size of Hall and keeping in view safety norms prescribed for COVID-19.

At the entry of hall, room or premises, Thermal Scanning of all persons will be carried out and sanitiser, soap and water will be made available. No one, having any symptoms of COVID-19 like fever and cold, will be allowed to enter the Counting Hall. The candidate will be allowed to appoint or replace the Counting Agents in case report is positive. Social distancing will be maintained inside Counting Hall and the seating arrangement of Counting Personnel and Agents will be made as per COVID-19 guidelines of National and State Disaster Management Authority. There will be a sufficient number of PPE Kit for Counting Agents and Candidates. Masks, sanitizers, Face-Shields and Gloves will be provided to every counting official and security personnel.

For counting of Postal Ballots, an additional number of Assistant Returning Officers will be deputed. If required, Postal Ballots will also be counted in a separate hall under the supervision of the Returning Officer or Assistant Returning Officer. As per the government guidelines, there will be proper arrangement of disposal of COVID related wastage including used Mask, Face Shield, PPE Kit and Gloves.

The Election Commission has already banned all victory processions on or after the day of counting votes for Assembly polls in these states. Not more than two people will be allowed to accompany the winning candidates to receive the certificate of election from the concerned Returning Officer.

Earlier, Uttar Pradesh went to polls in seven phases from 10th of February to 7th of March. Polling for Goa and Uttarakhand was held on 14th of February in single-phase along with the Second Phase polling in Uttar Pradesh while polling in Punjab was held on 20th of February simultaneously with the Third Phase in Uttar Pradesh. Manipur voted on 28th of February and 5th of March in two phases.

A total of 690 Assembly Constituencies in Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand went to polls this time. Similarly, in case of Assembly By-poll to Majuli seat in Assam, the polling was held on 7th of March along with that of Seventh and Final Phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh.

News Services Division of All India Radio (NSD-AIR) has made elaborate arrangements for providing authentic and latest results of Assembly elections from five poll-going states. AIR, the biggest radio network in the country, will broadcast special bulletins and special discussion programmes on election results tomorrow. The programmes will be broadcast on AIR FM Gold at 100.1 MHz and other channels. It will also be available live on our YouTube channel NEWS ON AIR OFFICIAL. AIR correspondents from all five states will provide latest live updates of counting of votes. Experts in studios will give a comprehensive and in-depth analysis of the results. Apart from the Special Election Bulletins, In-depth Live Discussion will be broadcast from 07:20 P.M. to 8 P.M. An exclusive Radio Bridge Programme with experts from five states shall be aired from 09:15 P.M. to 10 P.M. Similarly, Regional News Units of AIR throughout the country will mount special programmes and news bulletins in regional languages of their respective states.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.