The news is by your side.

Himanta Biswa Sharma to be sworn in as Assam CM today

0 64

From Bhupen Goswami

GUWAHATI : In Assam, the suspense in the name of chief minister is over. In Assam, the chief minister’s name has also been unveiled after the BJP returned  to power. Hemant Biswa Sarma has been elected as the leader of Assam legislature party and will be sworn in as new Chief Minister today. Himanta Biswa Sharma met Governor Jagdish Mukhi at 4 pm yesterday  and staked claim to form the government in the state.

 Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and Party General Secretary Arun Singh were present as central observers at the legislature party meeting. After the meeting, Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar said, “Unanimously declare Himanta Biswa Sharma as the leader of assam state BJP legislature as the leader of the legislature party. Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, who was sent as an observer of Assam, informed after the legislature party meeting that Sarma will be sworn in as chief minister i.e. Narendra Singh Tomar told a press conference that Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal proposed Sarma’s name and BJP state party president Ranjit Kumar Das and newly elected MLA from Haflong Nandita Garlosa supported the proposal.

 Since no one else’s name has been proposed, ‘Sarma has been unanimously elected as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party. Sarbananda Sonowal had resigned as chief minister before the legislature party meeting began.The BJP high command had summoned Sarbananda Sonawal and Himanta Biswa Sharma to Delhi yesterday. The two leaders had met BJP president JP Nadda and Union Home Minister Amit Shah in Delhi. Bjp had not announced its chief ministerial candidate before the elections. He had projected Sonowal as the candidate for the post in the 2016 assembly elections and won the election. With this, the first government of the saffron party was formed in the North-East. Leading the BJP’s mission of a Congress-free India in the North-East, Himanta Biswa Sarma played a key role in expanding the BJP’s base in the North-Eastern Region and proved himself.

The BJP had no presence in the North-East till a few years ago, but now because of Himanta Biswa Sarma, there is a BJP government in many states.Himanta Biswa Sarma, who has led the BJP from the CAA movement since handling the Covid-19 epidemic in Assam as health minister, will now be the next chief minister of the state. Chanakya of the North-East is the head of the BJP’s ‘Congress Mukt Bharat’. This time, the party continued to say that it would decide after the elections who would be the next Chief Minister of Assam. Himanta Biswa Sarma’s political career began in 1980. He was in class VI at that time. He joined the All Assam Student Union. He was then made general secretary of the Guwahati unit. He joined the Congress in the 1990s and first contested from Jalukbari seat in 2001.

He is now being elected mla from Jalukbari assembly seat for the fifth time in a row. He joined the BJP in 2015. Himanta Biswa was sarma’s key role in the 2016 assembly elections and the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. He was made chairman of the North East Democratic Alliance after winning Assam in 2016. After which he did a great job of taking the BJP to power in many north-eastern states.  Bjp has won 60 seats in the 126-member Assam Assembly, while its alliance partner Assam Gana Parishad won nine seats and the United People’s Party Liberal won six seats. Sarbananda Sonowal has won majuli for the second time in a row by defeating Congress leader Rajib Lochan Pegu by a margin of 43,192 votes. Senior minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma has retained the Jalukbari seat by defeating Congress’ Romain Chandra Borthakur by a margin of 1,01,911 votes in the assembly elections. Apart from Sonowal and Sarma, 13 other BJP ministers managed to retain their seats easily.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.