The news is by your side.

Assam Assembly Elections: Invoter list just 90, but 181 voted, five election officers suspended

0 41

 From Bhupen Goswami

GUWAHATI : A disturbance is being reported at a polling station in Dima Hasao district of Assam. A major irregularities have been unearthed at a polling station in the district. Only 90 voters are registered here, but a total of 181 votes were polled. More than twice as many nominated voters were agitated after it came to light that they would cast their votes at the assistant station. Five officials have been suspended for “insult to duty” in the case. The Election Commission has ordered re-polling at a polling station in Haflong constituency of Dima Hasao district of south Assam.

The election commission’s decision comes after widespread irregularities exposed 181 votes at a polling station in Hasao district, while 90 voters are registered there. According to the report, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nitin Khade said in the statement, “It has been reported by the District Election Officer that the assistant polling station ‘107-A’ of Khotlir LP School, dima hasao, Haflong, was first set up for the 2021 elections. “As per the valid electoral rolls, only 90 voters are registered at this polling station. It may be mentioned that 616 voters are registered at the main polling station PS No. Thus, on April 1, 2021, a total of 181 votes were polled at polling station no. An official said the village pradhan had refused to accept the electoral roll and came there with his list. The villagers then voted according to the same list. However, it is not yet clear why the election officials accepted the demand of the village head and whether security personnel were posted there and what was their role.

After the incident came to light, the District Election Officer had suspended five election officers of 107 (A) of polling station Khotlir LP School and ordered re-election. “During the examination of the presiding officer’s diary and other documents, it was found that the presiding officer and polling officers of polling station Khotlir LP School 107-A allowed 181 people to cast their votes. The Presiding Officer and the First Polling Officer in their statement admitted that they allowed voters whose names were not registered to cast their votes at the main polling station. The Election Commission had suspended S. Lhangum (Sector Officer), Prahlad C. Roy (Presiding Officer), Parameshwar Charangsa (First Polling Officer), Swaraj Kanti Das (Second Polling Officer) and L. Theek (3rd Polling Officer) with immediate effect for negligence in discharge of duty. Tell us that this polling booth is in Haflong constituency where elections were held on April 1 under the second phase. In Haflong, 74 per cent polling was recorded. Assam Chief Electoral Officer Nitin Khade said that polling station was set up for the first time in A Khothir LP School. The polling station is in Haflong assembly constituency. Polling was held in the second phase on April 1. In Haflong, 74 per cent polling was recorded.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.